Originally funded by the Scottish Universities Insight Institute as the project entitled Conversations about language and literacy: Promoting equity and attainment through engagement, we ran a series of workshops in 2017-2018 centred around the Scottish Government’s priorities of improving literacy attainment and closing the poverty related attainment gap.

This project was led by Dr Lynne Duncan (Psychology, University of Dundee) and Dr Sarah McGeown (School of Education, University of Edinburgh).  Our programme team included Amina Shah (formerly Scottish Book Trust), Greg McCafferty (Fife Council), Dr Edward Sosu (University of Strathclyde) and Carrol Herbertson (National Parents Forum Scotland), with Catriona Mackenzie (Scottish Government) and Helen Fairlie (Education Scotland) forming part of our programme advisory group.